The 5 best books I read this summer

Just Another Magic Monday

I’ve done a lot this summer. I went on holiday to Menorca, I saw the overgrown ruins of an old cottage back home in Solihull, and, most excitingly of all, I read a lot of books.

Some of them were distinctly average – Cary Elwes’ memoir of The Princess Bride, As You Wish, was wonderful for learning bits and pieces about one of my favourite films, but the writing was dodgy. And some books I read were kind of bad – I only got three pages into Anne Rice’s Queen of the Damned before I cringed so hard that the cringe ran all the way down my arm and flung the book back onto the shelf.

Overall, though, it’s been a very good season for reading for me. Here are some absolute gems I gobbled up.

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

cloud-atlasThere’s a reason Cloud Atlas got a Man Booker…

View original post 593 more words

Leave a Reply

